A Very Brief History of My World

Hi!

I’m Nyasia A. Maire.

I make things up.

Okay, okay…I write stories. I started writing so long ago I can’t remember exactly when I wrote my first. I do remember writing a screenplay at the age of 12 for The Beatles and mailing it to Apple Corp. The manuscript was typed and double-spaced. My mother’s Smith-Corona manual typewriter was my tool of choice. Anyway, I mailed it to London and waited for a reply. Surprisingly, I received a hand-typed response. The letter was hand-signed by someone at Apple Corp (not one of The Beatles) and I kept the letter as one of my prized possessions for years until my ex-husband destroyed it during our rather messy divorce. Such is life.

My first rejection letter. Sigh…the first of many.

Over the years, I’ve continued writing. My first attempt at fiction was a collection of short stories rather pretentiously named “Court of Storms.” I picked that name because my boyfriend of the time didn’t like my choice, “Park Tales.” I think I should’ve stuck with my title and I think someday that’s what it will be again.

Oh, I didn’t tell you. I write poetry as well and am a retired news photographer. Two of my poems were published in anthology that I’ve never been able to locate. The title is “Our World’s Greatest Poetry” or something to that effect. I’d have to look through my files to find the exact title, but you get my drift.

Shortly after the release of the 2004 movie, “Phantom of the Opera,” I took a foray into the world of fan fiction. My next three novels are a part of that genre. Although one of them began it’s “life” as an original story and I did write both the fan fiction and original story versions.

My current novel, “The Heretic’s Child,” began its life about 25 years ago. For some reason unknown to me, I placed it in the Science Fiction genre. It was a vague idea about a galactic librarian and it didn’t get much further than that. I could never figure out a story to go along with the idea.

Until…

Five years ago. The story entered the realm of fantasy and seemed to be moving along rather well. And then, boom! Nothing. The story was depressing the protagonist was suicidal and looking for a place to end it all. She meets a man and suddenly wants to live again. Nope. Nope. Nope.

So, there it sat with 30,000 words written and the glimmering of a world. I decided to do something I’ve never done before. I created a bible for the story’s universe. Why do things work the way they do? And then, I created a timeline. It felt good. I was creating a good, strong foundation upon which to build my story.

Then, last May I decided that the only way to get the story out of my head and onto paper was to write. I decided to write each and every day. Even if I didn’t keep the words I wrote. Even if I only kept 10 of them. I had to write every day. How would I keep myself honest? I pondered this question and I came upon a solution. I would tweet my daily word count. Now, I’m not a world-renown writer or a Twitter-phile, but I thought putting my count out there in the ether was as good a way to keep honest as any.

So, I set to work almost one year ago. I finished the manuscript the first week of September and after doing some research (unfortunately not enough research because I didn’t know all the questions I should ask) I selected a publisher. Now I will admit, the road to publication was not easy, nor was it smooth, but I didn’t give up and I stood my ground. When I thought I was getting the run around or being taken advantage of, I called them on it in a respectful, but firm way. Hey, I have a business arrangement with these people. Yelling at them isn’t going to accomplish anything. Besides, they’re just cogs in the wheel. Yelling at them is yelling at someone that can end up helping me if I handle it correctly. My strategy worked and I believe I have established lasting relationships with some of the people at my publisher’s office. And that, my friends, is a bonus.

A person can write the All-American Novel, but if you don’t make contacts in the business, no one will ever know.

So, hey! I’ve written my first ever blog and it was fun.

All comments are welcome!

Fondest wishes,

~ny

P.S. If you’d like to take a look at my newly published novel, “The Heretic’s Child,” here’s a link to my publisher’s page for me… http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/nyasia

Thanks!

2 thoughts on “A Very Brief History of My World

    1. I’m new to blogging, but figured I’d give it a try. I was told it would be a good way to generate interest in my novel, so anything that helps is worth it. Thanks for following and commenting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

