Sometimes, Writing Isn’t Everything

It’s been an exciting week. My girl and I went to a Bernie Sanders Rally in Santa Monica. We got to meet a lot of really nice people and best of all, we were close to the podium and got to see Bernie Sanders up close and personal.

I want to say that I don’t care what your political leanings are, but that would be a lie. I do care. I care a lot. But, on the other hand, a major part of my beliefs are in everyone having a choice. So, I would be a hypocrite of the worst degree if I didn’t allow people to have their own opinion.

Therefore, the only thing I ask people to do is…VOTE! VOTE! VOTE!

Don’t sit on the sidelines and think,  “My vote won’t matter.” Or, “Oh, it’s over. There’s no point in me voting.”

Your vote matters, but it only matters if you cast it.

Bernie Sanders became Mayor of the city of Burlington, Vermont by 14 votes. FOURTEEN! If those people had stayed home or cast their vote for the opposition, we would be experiencing a different world today.

So, YOUR VOTE MATTERS!

===

Now, my week has been exciting for reasons related to my writing as well. I have been a fan of Dean Koontz for more than 25 years. I used to attend book signings of his at the Book Carnival in Orange, California, so last year (on my birthday) I wrote a letter to Dean. I reminded him of who I am and asked if I could send him a copy of my book for him to review. I was pleased by the quick response and stunned by the handwritten note that said I could send him a copy. So last Friday, I delivered and mailed out a book to him.

I also met Gerard Butler after one of his appearances on late night television. I was able to speak to him for a few minutes and he told me to send a copy of my (then) outline to the Development Department of his production company. I got off my behind and did so on Saturday.

Then, I called Book Carnival and began making the arrangements to have them host a book signing for me. Their review copy went out in the mail on Saturday as well.

Finally, I called Book Soup in Hollywood, California and opened as discussion with their Public Relations Department for them to host a book signing for me.

What else am I doing to promote my book?

Well, I’m blogging. 😉

I’ve also designed a card that has the cover of my book and “A fantasy novel now available at Lulu.com” on one side and a synopsis of the plot on the other. I hand these out to people I meet that I think might be interested. You never know which person might be the one to change the course of your life.

Sometimes, all it takes is 14 votes.

Fondest wishes,

~ny

Follow the below link, for more information about “The Heretic’s Child.”

Nyasia’s Niche

Leave a Reply

