Author Meet & Greets!

I had my first Meet & Greet/Book Signing last week. It was at an unconventional spot. A group of local store owners host a monthly event on their stretch of street. The stores all stay open until 9 p.m., there’s live music and a variety of food trucks.

So how did I discover this venue?

It was an accident. I walk around my neighborhood every night and discovered this little event by accident when I walked through it. They call it, “Third Thursday Nights at Tujunga Village.” I know; the name doesn’t exactly roll off your tongue, but the name of the street is Tujunga. What can you do?

There was a live rock band playing. (Okay, here’s a plug for the band!) Their name is “Echophonix.” They’re very good, but I guess they were too loud for the staid store owners because they don’t play there anymore. Sigh…

Anyway, back to how I discovered this venue.

I was walking down the street and while I was listening to the band play, I started a conversation with a really nice young lady. I don’t hear very well, so I could never catch her name and the band was really loud. Each month, I would see her and we got to be friendly. Last December, I mentioned that my novel would be out soon and she became very excited. She asked me if I would be interested in having a signing during their event.

Hmmm… let me think about that a moment.

DOH!

OF COURSE I’M INTERESTED. Who do I have to kill? Oops! Too much enthusiasm? Maybe. 🙂

Moving forward in time, my book became available from the publisher on April 7, 2016 and I was trying to learn some of the ways to promote the book. I was also waiting for it to be available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, etc. (yes, The Heretic’s Child is now available EVERYWHERE!) before I decided to send a text to my contact.

Sent the text, received an immediate response and four weeks later, my book signing is a week in the past. Now, I’m not worried that my first signing is in the past because I have been invited to return next month. AND, I will be there!

I’m also waiting for the owner of a bookstore to return from her vacation, so we can arrange for a more traditional Meet & Greet/Book Signing.

Why do these things take so long?

Well, a number of reasons.

  1. I’m a single mom and my daughter just graduated from high school. We were a bit busy with the end of the school year events.
  2. I work two jobs.
  3. I was sick.
  4. I’m new at this and still learning my options.

Yeah, yeah! I know excuses, but valid ones.

I’ve sent the book out to several people; the bookstore owner, a production coordinator and an author friend for review. I need to get on the ball and send out a few more copies for review. And I will. Soon…

Oh! Here’s the best reason for being distracted from marketing my book…I’m working on the companion novel. This story is written from the protagonist’s point of view. It’s different and I’m thinking that it might be one of the best things I’ve ever written.

Time will tell.

Please check out my novel, The Heretic’s Child, available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBook Store, Kobo and Lulu.com.

Fondest wishes,

~ny

One thought on “Author Meet & Greets!

  1. I’m on my sister’s computer as I’m waiting for my new one to arrive. Don’t know if I mentioned that my old one died, but just wanted to explain why I still haven’t ordered your book when I said I would. Reason: I had to buy a new computer. I debated about trying to live without one but that idea bit the dust in about three seconds. Anyway, I’m scraping the bottom of the wallet at the moment — you’ve been there, I’m sure. Hoping that nothing new crops up before my next paycheck. Glad to hear you’ve been asked back for the next event, and hope the book store works out, too. Hang in there. Marilee

    On Fri, Jun 24, 2016 at 5:31 PM, Nyasia A. Maire wrote:

    > Nyasia A. Maire posted: “I had my first Meet & Greet/Book Signing last > week. It was at an unconventional spot. A group of local store owners host > a monthly event on their stretch of street. The stores all stay open until > 9 p.m., there’s live music and a variety of food trucks” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

