Writing from a Villain’s POV

Muwahahahahahahaha!

So, I’m writing the companion novel to “The Heretic’s Child” and I writing it from the antagonist’s point of view. Why on earth did I think this was a good idea? Sigh…

Attempting to write from a sociopath’s point of view is challenging.

Why, you ask?

Well, I’m not a sociopath (well, I don’t THINK that I’m a sociopath, I HOPE I’m not a sociopath) and trying to write a believable villain is difficult. Or, at least I’m finding it difficult because I want it to ring true. Most stories I’ve read that involve a villain are not written in the first person. They’re written from the third person, so you’re not getting inside their head. The writer is only reporting on what the villain says and does.

Writing from the first person makes it so I have to think like a mentally ill person, so I can “talk” like one. And, I’m not having an easy time. In fact, for the first couple of weeks that I was writing, I would get a horrible headache while I was writing.

Thankfully, those are in the past.

I finally discovered that one of the main character flaws this person has is that he’s a liar. This has helped, however, I wasn’t sure how I was going to develop an interesting plot having the entire story being just him “talking” to my readers when suddenly, it hit me. The solution to this problem. I would bring in someone with whom he could hold a conversation.

Now, this will require that I perform a major rewrite on the beginning of the book, but that’s okay. Writing to me is not just about writing a story; it’s about perfecting a story. And in the end, hopefully, this will improve the overall story.

It took me 20 years (give or take) to perfect the idea behind “The Heretic’s Child” and only a little over 3 months to write it.

I started my current work-in-progress last September, hit a roadblock at 29,000 words and stopped. I let the story roll around in my mind for 5 or 6 months and now, I’ve been working on it again for two weeks.

Don’t worry. I’ll figure it out and it won’t take 20 years. This time I have the laws of this novel’s universe created and the first novel to use as a reference.

So it’s all good.

I’ll keep you all posted on how “The Liar – A Rememberer’s Tale” is progressing.

Thanks for reading!

~ny

P.S. Don’t forget to check out my website and thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “Writing from a Villain’s POV

  1. My whole first series was written from the villain’s point-of-view. The trickiest part for me was finding their motivations. No one really sets out to be evil, their actions are what make them the bad guys.

    Like

Leave a Reply

